

2015 Subconference of the MLA

"Non-Negotiable Sites of Struggle"

January 7-9, Vancouver, BC

Simon Fraser University Harbour Centre Joseph and Rosalie Segal Room

Co-sponsored by TSSU

Wednesday, January 7th

8-9 am **Breakfast (provided)** 9-9:30 am **Opening ceremony** Recognition of unceded Coast Salish First Nations territories 9:45-11:30 am Panel 1: Indigeneity and Decolonization

Sean Kennedy (CUNY, Graduate Center), Daniel Voth (U. British Columbia), Lee

Veeraraghavan (*U. of Pennsylvania*)

11:45-1:30 pm Lunch (provided)

12:45 pm **Non-Traditional Forms of Resistance**

Anne Stewart (*U. Texas-Austin*), Paul Joosse (*U. Alberta*)

Panel 2: Theorizing Academic Labor 1:45-3:30 pm

Andrew Culp (Whitman College), Matthew Applegate (Molloy College)

Ismaeil Fazel (U. British Columbia), Joel Heng Hartse (U. British

Columbia), Sharon O'Dair (U. Alabama)

3:45-6:30 pm **Panel 3: Critical Resistance workshop**

Linette Park, Hamzah Baig, Hans Kuzmich, and Heather M. O'Brien

(Los Angeles chapter of Critical Resistance)

Open bar: Heartwood Community Café (317 Broadway E.) 6:30-9 pm

Thursday, January 8th

8-9:15 am **Breakfast (provided)**

Panel 4: Prison Abolition and Education 9:15-11 am

Travis Sands (U. Washington-Bothell), Thomas Dichter (U. Pennsylvania), Odilka Sabrina

Santiago (SUNY Binghamton)

11:15-1 pm **Panel 5: Critical Pedagogies**

Emily Fedoruk (U. Minnesota), Adra Raine (U. North Carolina-Chapel Hill), Robert Oxford

(U. Texas-Austin), Dan Adleman, Am Johal (Vancouver Institute for Social Research)

1-2:30 pm Lunch (provided)

1:45 pm **University Finances 101**

Lenora Hanson (*U. Wisconsin-Madison*)

2:45-4:45 pm Panel 6: Faculty Solidarity Across Ranks

Juliana Spahr (Mills College), Stephanie Young (Mills College)

John Maerhofer (CUNY), Margaret Hanzimanolis (City College of San Francisco), Joe Ramsey (U. Massachusetts-Lowell), Miranda Merklein (Northern New Mexico)

Panel 7: Advances in Academic Labor Organizing 5-6:45 pm

Frank Cosco (Vancouver Community College), Jack Longmate (Olympic College), Keith

Hoeller (Green River Community College), Christine Walsh (U Arizona), members of the

Teaching Support Staff Union (Simon Fraser University).

7-8:30 **Closing Roundtable**

> Pranav Jani (Ohio State U.), Jennifer Ruth (Portland State U.), Amanda Armstrong (U. California-Berkeley), Jess Heaney (Critical Resistance), Christopher Newfield (U. Santa-

Barbara), Jason Read (U. Southern Maine) [via Skype]

For more info, visit mlasubconference.org.